Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics (YITP)

Founded in 1953, and named after Hideki Yukawa, recipient of the 1949 Nobel Prize in Physics, the YITP is a national center for pioneering research in the field of theoretical physics. Research interests span a wide range of fields, including particle physics, field theory, nuclear physics, astrophysics, cosmology, statistical physics, condensed matter physics, and biophysics. A strong emphasis is also placed on cutting-edge interdisciplinary research. The institute offers one joint course in the Graduate School of Science. The YITP’s standing as a world-class center for theoretical physics was recently reaffirmed when former director Toshihide Maskawa was awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics.