11th Tachibana Award winners announced, ceremony taking place 4 March (25 January 2019)

In other languages
Published on

Now in its eleventh year, the Kyoto University Tachibana Award for Outstanding Women Researchers was established in 2008 to acknowledge the achievements of early-career women researchers at Kyoto University.

Winners of the 2019 Tachibana Award and Honorable Mention Award in both student and researcher categories have been announced as below, with an award ceremony set to take place Monday 4 March in the Symposium Hall of the International Science Innovation Building.

1. About the Tachibana Award

The Kyoto University Tachibana Award for Outstanding Women Researchers honors excellent achievements by Kyoto University’s early-career women researchers. By publicly recognizing women who have produced outstanding work in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, the Award aims to further motivate the awardees as well as others following in their footsteps, so as to contribute to the development of women scholars who will lead the future of academic research at Kyoto University and beyond.

2. 2019 selection process

There were 19 applications for this year, nine in the student category and 10 in research. The 10-member committee, chaired by Dr Kayo Inaba, executive vice-president for gender equality, international affairs, and public relations, conducted a two-stage evaluation: first a paper-based review, followed by interviews. After careful consideration, awardees were selected as follows.

3. 2019 awardees

Tachibana Award

Student Category

Shiori Fujimori, third year, doctoral program, Graduate School of Science

"Synthesis and characterization of phenyl anions containing heavier group 14 elements in their frameworks"

Researcher Category

Noa Nishimoto, Program-Specific Researcher, Graduate School of Human and Environmental Studies

"Tandroy Malagasy: descriptive grammar, text and cultural vocabulary"

Honorable Mention

Student Category

Miho Saito, third year, doctoral program, Graduate School of Science

"Parenting strategies of wild Masai giraffes in Katavi National Park, Tanzania"

Mariko Kimura, second year, doctoral program, Graduate School of Science

"Elucidation of the mechanism of black hole accretion based on multi-wavelength observations of accretion disks"

4. Award ceremony

The 2019 Tachibana Award Ceremony and research presentations will be held as follows.

Date and time

Monday 4 March 2019, 10:30–11:30


Symposium Hall, International Science Innovation Building, 5th floor, Kyoto University



Opening address

Dr Kayo Inaba
Executive Vice-President for Gender Equality, International Affairs, and Public Relations
Kyoto University


Presentation of award certificates and the Wacoal Prizes


Presidential remarks


Congratulatory address by the guest of honor

Tomoyasu Ito
Representative Director, President, and Corporate Officer
Wacoal Corporation


Research presentation 1

Shiori Fujimori, student winner of the Tachibana Award


Research presentation 2

Noa Nishimoto, researcher winner of the Tachibana Award


Closing address

Related link