## **AWARDS & HONORS**

## International Recognition of Kyoto University's Research

TOPIC

Professor Inaba receives the L'Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science 2014



Professor Kayo Inaba at the Awarad Ceremony on 19 March 2014

Professor Kayo Inaba is one of the five Laureates of the L'Oréal–UNESCO Awards For Women in Science 2014, which were celebrated in Paris with events from 16<sup>th</sup> to 19<sup>th</sup> of March. The L'Oréal–UNESCO For Women in Science Awards, established by the world's largest cosmetics company L'Oréal and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) in 1998, aims to improve the status of women in science by recognizing outstanding research conducted by women researchers around the world. Since the establishment, the Awards have recognized women researchers, based on a long-term perspective, who have contributed to scientific progress. This year, Professor Kayo Inaba was awarded for her discoveries concerning the 'decisive role of dendritic cells in the immune system of healthy and diseased subjects'.

Although the history of vaccines can be traced back to the early 19<sup>th</sup> century, when the first successful vaccine for smallpox was developed, only recently have the mechanisms underlying immunological

responses begun to be uncovered. Professor Inaba is known for her work on demonstrating the importance of dendritic cells, which act as "sentinels"

Kayo Inaba completed her doctoral degree at Kyoto University's Graduate School of Science, and became the first female associate professor at Kyoto University in Faculty of Science. She was promoted to full professor in 1999. She became the University's first female Dean in 2003, and was appointed Director of the Center for Women Researchers in 2007, and Vice-President for Gender Equality in 2013. She was also a visiting professor at the Rockefeller University.



of the immune system. She has also shown that these cells can be treated outside the body, and then reinfuse into the body to stimulate immune responses. In addition, she developed a method to generate dendritic cells from bone marrow precursor cells — a key advance that could lead to a new type of anticancer treatment or open a new path for cellular therapy.

The three-day program of events in Paris included presentations of the Laureates' research at the French Academy of Sciences on March 18<sup>th</sup>, followed by a grand Award Ceremony at Sorbonne University on March 19<sup>th</sup>. In media interviews conducted in between the events, Professor Inaba was highly praised for her work on supporting and training women researchers.

Extensive coverage was achieved in the Japan media, and in international press including television and radio.

You can see a video that introduces Professor Inaba on YouTube, which produced by L'Oréal.





At the Charles de Gaulle International Airport in Paris, the Awards' poster of Inaba was displayed.

WEB www.loreal.com/Foundation/Article.aspx?topcode=Foundation\_AccessibleScience\_WomenExcellence\_U

## Honors

## Award Winning Researchers in Kyoto University

Nobel Prize in Physics Hideki Yukawa (1949), Sin-Itiro Tomonaga (1965), Makoto Kobayashi (2008), Toshihide Maskawa (2008)

in Chemistry Kenichi Fukui (1981), Ryoji Noyori (2001)

in Physiology or Medicine Susumu Tonegawa (1987), Shinya Yamanaka (2012)

Fields Medal Heisuke Hironaka (1970), Shigefumi Mori (1990)

Gauss Prize Kiyosi Itō (2006)

Lasker Award Susumu Tonegawa (1987), Yasutomi Nishizuka (1989), Yoshio Masui (1998),

Shinya Yamanaka (2009)

Japan Prize Makoto Nagao (2005), Masatoshi Takeichi (2005)

Kyoto Prize Chushiro Hayashi (1995), Kiyosi Itō (1998), Shinya Yamanaka (2010), Masatoshi Nei (2013)

Die Schaudinn-Hoffmann-Plakette Shin-ichi Matsumoto (1965)

Huxley Memorial Medal 

Junichiro Itani (1984)

 $\textbf{Canada Gairdner International Award} \quad \diamondsuit \quad \textbf{Susumu Tonegawa} \ (1983), \ \textbf{Yasutomi Nishizuka} \ (1988), \ \textbf{Susumu Tonegawa} \ (1988), \ \textbf{Yasutomi Nishizuka} \ (1988), \$ 

Shinya Yamanaka (2009), Kazutoshi Mori (2009)

Order of the White Elephant - 3rd Class Voneo Ishii (1987)

Ross G. Harrison Prize Tokindo S. Okada (1989)

Salem Prize 
Mitsuhiro Shishikura (1992)

Robert Koch Prize 🦠 Shigekazu Nagata (1995), Shinya Yamanaka (2008), Tasuku Honjo (2012)

The Keio Medical Science Prize 🦠 Shigetada Nakanishi (1996). Masatoshi Takeichi (2001). Koichi Tanaka (2002),

Yoshinori Fujiyoshi (2005), Shimon Sakaguchi (2008), Kenji Kangawa (2009)

Frank Nelson Cole Prize Hiraku Nakazima (2003)

John Dawson Prize 
Tetsuya Sato (2005)

Yuri Gagarin Medal 🔷 Hiroshi Matsumoto (2006)

Booker Gold Medal ♦ Hiroshi Matsumoto (2008)

The Ulysses Medal Shuh Narumiya (2008)

L.S.B. Leakey Prize Toshisada Nishida (2008)

Prix du Rayonnement de la langue et de la littérature françaises Kazuyoshi Yoshikawa (2010)

de Gennes Prize Susumu Kitagawa (2013)