# History of Kyoto University

Kyoto University was founded on June 18, 1897 as Kyoto Imperial University—the second university to be established in Japan. Within ten years, its Colleges of Science and Engineering, Law, Medicine, and Letters were operating, forming the basis for a truly comprehensive institution. Commemorating its 120<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2017, Kyoto University continues to develop as a world-class research-oriented university.

In 1869 a school of higher learning in chemistry and physics was established under the name of the Seimikyoku, which was later renamed the Third High School.

Kyoto Imperial University established on June 18.

1947
Renamed Kyoto University.

1860

1870

1880

1890

1897

1910

1920

1930

1940



Dr. Shinya Yamanaka, director of the Center for iPS Cell Research and Application (CiRA), receiving the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.



Dr. Kayo Inaba, Kyoto University's executive vice-president for gender equality, international affairs, and public relations, receiving the 2014 L'Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science (Immunology and Medicine).



Dr. Kazutoshi Mori of Kyoto University's Graduate School of Science receiving the 2014 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research.

# Award-Winning Research

Kyoto University is one of the most respected research universities in the Asian region. This is testified by the accolades conferred upon its researchers past and present—notably nine Nobel Prizes, two Fields Medals, a Gauss Prize, five Lasker Awards, three Japan Prizes, and eight Kyoto Prizes.

# Nobel Prize A

1960

1950

lack





2008

Toshihide Maskawa



Kenichi Fukui

Physiology or Medicine

Shinya Yamanaka

1970

lack



Isamu Akasaki

1990

1980















2030

Japan Prize

2006

Kiyoshi Ito

Mathematics

\*\*\* \*\*\*

Gauss Prize

\*photos provided by the Japan Prize Foundation







Masatoshi Takeichi

### **Kyoto Prize**

Makoto Kobayashi

2008



Chushiro Havashi



2013 **Basic Sciences** Masatoshi Nei

1998

Kiyoshi Ito

Basic Sciences



Alan Curtis Kav





2016 Basic Sciences

Tasuku Honjo

## Lasker Award A



Basic Medical Research Susumu Tonegawa



Shinya Yamanaka

Yasutomi Nishizuka

1998 Yoshio Masui



Research Kazutoshi Mori