# CELLULOSE AND RENEWABLE MATERIALS DIVISION

### A DIVISION OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

### THE ANSELME PAYEN AWARD

The Anselme Payen Award is international, and all scientists conducting research in the field of cellulose are eligible for nomination. This award includes a bronze medal and an honorarium of \$3,000, given by the ACS Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division to honor and encourage outstanding professional contributions to the science and chemical technology of cellulose and its allied products.

Selection of the awardee is based on the application package. These are individually ranked by a panel of nine judges who are appointed by the current Chair-Elect and are unknown to each other. Three judges rotate off the panel each year. The identity of all members is known only to the Chair of the awards committee who compiles the results. After the awardee accepts, the Chair of the Awards Committee announces the winner at the next Spring ACS meeting. The awardee for that year is honored at the following Spring ACS meeting at a Symposium and Banquet. The award bears the year the winner was announced. It is presented the following year to allow time for organization of the Symposium and Banquet.

### NOMINATION FORM

A Nomination Form has been developed as a guide and should not restrict the scope of the nomination. For a copy of the Nomination Form, <u>click here (MS Word document) (http://cell.sites.acs.org/files/APA Nomination.doc)</u>.

The complete nomination package for this Award should consist of:

- A Nomination Form (maximum 5 pages)
- · 2 support letters

compiled into **one pdf** and submit via email to the division's <u>awards chair</u> (<a href="http://cell.sites.acs.org/officials.htm#959933530">http://cell.sites.acs.org/officials.htm#959933530</a>) by **July 1**.

### HISTORY OF THE AWARD



This award is named for the distinguished French scientist who discovered cellulose, and pioneered in the chemistry of both cellulose and lignin. He was the first to attempt separation of wood into its component parts. After treating different woods with nitric acid he obtained a fibrous substance common to all which he also found in cotton and other plants. His analysis revealed the chemical formula of the substance to be C6H10O5. He reported the discovery and the first results of this classic work in 1838 in Comptes Rendus. The name "cellulose" was coined and introduced into the scientific literature in 1839.

## ANSELME PAYEN AWARD RECIPIENTS

<u>Year</u>	<u>Awardee</u>	Institution
2018	Orlando Rojas	Aalto University
2017	Junji Sugiyama	Kyoto University
2016	Kevin Edgar	Virginia Tech
2015	Akira Isogai	University of Tokyo
2014	Thomas Rosenau	University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences
2013	John Ralph	University of Wisconsin-Madison
2012	Hans-Peter Fink	Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Polymer Research
2011	Lina Zhang	Wuhan University
2010	J. Thomas Heinze	Friedrich Schiller University of Jena
2009	Alfred D. French	USDA, ARS, Southern Regional Research Center
2008	Fumiaki Nakatsubo	Kyoto University
2007	Fumitaka Horii	Kyoto University
2006	Charles Buchanan	Eastman Chemical Company
2005	Peter Zugenmaier	Clausthal University of Technology
2004	Dieter Klemm	Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena
2003	Deborah P. Delmer	The Rockefeller Foundation
2002	R. St. John Manley	McGill University
2001	Liisa Viikari	VTT Biotechnology
2000	Wolfgang G. Glasser	Virginia Tech
1999	John Blackwell	Case Western Reserve University
1998	Rajai H. Atalla	USDA Forest Products Laboratory
1997	Joseph L. McCarthy	University of Washington
1996	S. Haig Zeronian	University of California, Davis
1995	Josef Gratzl	North Carolina State University
1994	Geoffrey N. Richards	University of Montana
1993	Derek Gray	Paprican, McGill University
1992	Josef Gierer	Royal Institute of Technology

1991	Henri Chanzy	CERMAV, Grenoble
1990	Junzo Nakano	University of Tokyo
1989	Anatole Sarko	SUNY College of Env. Sci. & Forestry
1988	Bengt Ranby	Royal Institute of Technology
1987	Takayoshi Higuchi	Kyoto University
1986	R. Malcolm Brown, Jr.	The University of Texas at Austin
1985	Orlando A. Battista	The O. A. Battista Research Institute
1984	Jett C. Arthur, Jr.	USDA, ARS, Southern Regional Research Center
1983	Reginald D. Preston	Leeds University
1982	Erich Adler	Chalmers University of Technology
1981	Stanley P. Rowland	USDA, ARS, Southern Reg. Res. Center
1980	Olof Samuelson	Chalmers University of Technology
1979	Kyosti V. Sarkanen	University of Washington
1978	W. Howard Rapson	University of Toronto
1977	W. Kyle Ward, Jr.	The Institute of Paper Chemistry
1976	Robert H. Marchessault	University of Montreal
1975	J. K. N. Jones	Queens University
1974	V. T. Stannett	North Carolina State University
1973	D. A. I. Goring	McGill University
1972	Conrad Schuerch	SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1971	Tore E. Timell	SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1970	Wilson A. Reeves	USDA, ARS, Southern Regional Research Center
1969	Stanley G. Mason	McGill University
1968	Alfred J. Stamm	USDA Forest Products Lab
1967	Roy L. Whistler	Purdue University
1966	Wayne A. Sisson	American Viscose
1965	Carl Johan Malm	Eastman Kodak
1964	Harold Morton Spurlin	Hercules
1963	Clifford Burroughs Purves	McGill University
1962	Louis Elsburg Wise	The Institute of Paper Chemistry

# COMPANIES CONTRIBUTING TO THE ANSELME PAYEN AWARD FUND

American Cyanamid Company AVC Division of FMC Corporation

**Buckeye Cellulose Company** 

Continental Can Company

Crown Zellerbach Foundation\*

The Dow Chemical Company\*

Eastex Incorporated

**FMC Corporation** 

The Gillette Research Institute

Eastman Kodak Company\*

Hercules Incorporated

**International Paper Company** 

Midland-Ross Corporation (Industrial Rayon Division)

Monsanto Charitable Trust

Olin Mathieson Chemical Corporation

Pennwalt Chemical Foundation

Rayonier Incorporated

Stauffer Chemical Company

\*Contributed twice

Societe de Chimie Biologique and the membership of the Division have contributed funds for a mold for the medal.

Last revised: June 21, 2017

### The CELL Division is on Facebook!

Visit our Facebook page by clicking the icon below.



### **Contact Us**

Members and visitors can contact the CELL Web master (cellwebmaster@hotmail.com) with any questions or suggestions related to the Web site. Contact information for current Division Officers can be found here.

## **Upcoming Events**



📆 XXIX International Carbohydate Symposium

Sunday Jul 15 - Thursday Jul 19



2018-8th Nordic Wood Biorefinery Conference

Tuesday Oct 23 - Thursday Oct 25

### **Recent Job Postings**



Research Associate in Materials Science

by Koon-Yang Lee 9 months ago

PHD STUDENT (M/F) - ROBUST PERFORMANCE PROCESSING ADDITIVES & INVESTIGATION OF

by Habibi, Youssef over a year ago

Tenure track position at Virginia Tech

by Koon-Yang Lee over a year ago

Tenure Track position at NCSU

by Koon-Yang Lee over a year ago

More...

ACS members who belong to this division may sign into this site using their ACS ID. If you are an ACS member, but don't have an ACS ID, you may go to <a href="www.acs.org">www.acs.org</a> to create it. You may also go to <a href="www.acs.org">login help</a> if you have questions about your ACS ID.

Not an ACS member? Join ACS today.

Not a division member? Join the division today.

To review the member benefits, follow this link.

## **Diversity**

The ACS CELL Division aspires to be a diverse and inclusive community of highly skilled chemical professionals. Click <u>here</u> to find out more.

Copyright � 2004-2017 Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division of the American Chemical Society