

1869

The Seimikyoku was built (May 1869) in Osaka as a school of higher learning in chemistry and physics.



1889

Known at this point as the Third Higher School, the institution was relocated to Kyoto in August 1889.



1897

On June 18th, 1897, the institution was reestablished as the Kyoto Imperial University. The main gates, built around this time remain in use today.



1919

Completed in 1898, students of the first departments of study at the Kyoto Imperial University – civil and mechanical engineering – conducted their studies here. The colleges were reorganized into five faculties in 1919.



1925

Students stand at the side entrance of the current clock tower building after its completion in 1925.



Renamed Kyoto University in 1947.



Yoshida campus circa 1954. Note the construction of a new east wing and the demolition of the boiler room chimney.

