• Requires application
  • Uji Campus

The 8th International Symposium of Advanced Energy Science: Interdisciplinary Approach to Zero-Emission Energy

In addition to conducting research aimed at finding more advanced ways to generate, convert, and utilize energy, the Institute of Advanced Energy (IAE) is collaborating with universities and other partners from around the country in joint usage/research projects on zero-emission energy, which it is hoped will eventually offer solutions to the world's ongoing environmental problems.

The 8th International Symposium of Advanced Energy Science will present lectures by domestic and international researchers on advanced energy science, FY2017 interim reports on IAE's joint usage/research projects, and opportunities for in-depth discussions on topics of relevance to zero-emission energy.

The organizers are looking forward to your attendance.
  • Tuesday 05 September 2017
  • Wednesday 06 September 2017
  • Thursday 07 September 2017
Time Tuesday 5 September -- 9:15-17:45
Wednesday 6 September -- 9:15-16:15
Thursday 7 September -- 10:00-16:00
Place Kihada Hall, Uji Obaku Plaza, Uji Campus, Kyoto University
Intended for Open to all, but prior knowledge is advisable due to the highly technical nature of the topics covered

Plenary speaker

  • Kanya Kusano (plasma astrophysics), Nagoya University

Invited speakers

  • Naoki Soneda (nuclear energy), Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry

  • Ryoji Hiwatari (fusion energy), National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology

  • Shannon M Bragg-Sitton (nuclear energy), Idaho National Laboratory

  • Akinori Irizawa (solid state physics), Osaka University

  • Masahiro Kawasaki (atmospheric chemistry), Nagoya University

  • Takashi Sagawa (solar energy materials), Kyoto University

  • Kenji Takahashi (biomas), Kanazawa University

  • Deliang Yu (plasma physics), Southwestern Institute of Physics

  • Tatsuya Kobayashi (plasma turbulence), National Institute for Fusion Science (NIFS)

  • Akihide Fujisawa (plasma physics), Kyushu University

  • Claus Felby (bioenergy), University of Copenhagen

  • Seunghyun Baik (nano science), Sungkyunkwan University

  • Dihua Wang (solar energy materials), Wuhan University

  • Kouji Yasuda (solar energy materials), Kyoto University

  • Masatora Fukuda (bioenergy), Fukuoka University



Program and other details

Further details (in Japanese) are available at:

Fee Free of charge
An optional reception, starting 17:45 on Tuesday 5 September in the Hybrid Space, Uji Obaku Plaza, is 1,000 yen for students and 3,000 yen for other participants
Registration Please email the following information to the address listed below (onsite registration also available):
1. Date(s) of attendance (5 Sep, 6 Sep, 7 Sep, and/or the reception)
2. Your name
3. Your affiliation

Joint Usage/Research Promotion Office, Institute of Advanced Energy
Email: kyodo* (replace * with @)
Registration deadline Registration will close when capacity is reached
Inquiries Joint Usage/Research Promotion Office, Institute of Advanced Energy, Kyoto University
Phone: 0774-38-3413
Fax: 0774-38-3412
Email: kyodo* (replace * with @)

Related link