News- About

30 Aug 2017
  • About

KU San Diego Liaison Office hosts opening reception (17 July 2017)

Kyoto University has developed its partnership with the University of California, San Diego (UCSD), through two joint symposia, held in March 2015 and 2016, and through researcher and student exchange promoted under university-level cooperation agreements. To further strengthen this collaboration, and to explore partnerships with other academic institutions as well as government and industry groups in the greater San Diego area, the University opened a liaison office near the UCSD campus on 1 April 2017.

On 17 July, the KU San Diego Liaison Office hosted an opening ceremony with 44 guests attending from academia, industry, government, including representatives from San Diego City Hall and from Japanese missions to the United States.

The event opened with remarks from Kyoto University President Juichi Yamagiwa and UCSD Chancellor Pradeep K Khosla. A toast was then given by Dr Nagahiro Minato, Kyoto University's Executive Vice-President for research, planning, and hospital administration, after which several guests, including Vice Chancellors of UCSD, officers from San Diego City Hall, and representatives of industry organizations, delivered congratulatory addresses expressing their anticipation for future collaboration with Kyoto University.

The ceremony was brought to a close with remarks from Dr Kayo Inaba, Kyoto University's Executive Vice-President for gender equality, international affairs, and public relations.

The event provided a valuable opportunity for Kyoto University to enhance its networks with UCSD and with business and academic partners in the greater San Diego area.

Kyoto University San Diego Liaison Office
Suite 200, Sunroad Corporate Center
4445 Eastgate Mall, San Diego, CA 92121, USA
sandiego* (replace * with @)

From left: President Yamagiwa, EVP Minato, and EVP Inaba

From left: UCSD Chancellor Khosla; Mr David Graham, Deputy COO of the City of San Diego; and Mr Joseph D Panetta, President & CEO of Biocom

Ceremony attendees